Boat Thruster Guide

What to buy, what it costs, what it takes to fit

We may earn a referral commission from some links on this page. It doesn't change your price or our recommendations.

Quick thruster review: what you get, who it suits

Quick is the thruster many Beneteau, Jeanneau and Hanse owners have without having chosen it, because those builders fit it at the factory. The owner reports here run from 2014 to 2026. This review puts the maker's manuals, warranty and prices in one place, beside what those owners say. Read it before you buy one, or to understand the one your boat came with.

Quick S.p.A. of Piangipane, near Ravenna, Italy has built thrusters since 2007; its founders bought the Quick name in 1992. Our database holds 27 sizes across three series, from a 44 lb A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. unit to a 595 lb one. A A motor with no carbon brushes: electronics switch the current instead. Nothing wears inside the motor, it runs cooler, and it costs more. QSY range sits beyond them. In the US they are sold through Quick USA of Fort Lauderdale, Florida and the dealers it supplies.

How this review was made. From the documents and from owners: nobody here has fitted or run a Quick, and every figure names its source. We read the maker's manuals, its warranty and company pages, its product and category pages and two 2026 press releases on 13 September 2026, plus Mauripro's listings that day and the US store's prices from August to 11 October 2026. Owner reports come from the forums, 2014 to 2026. Where one of the maker's documents contradicts another, you see both.

The short answer

  • What it is. The BTQ is a A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. thruster and the BTR a A thruster that lives inside the hull and drops down through a hatch when you press the button, then pulls back up. It leaves no permanent hole in the water flow. that drops through a box in the hull. Either way, the boat comes out of the water to fit one.
  • Who it suits. Owners of a recent Beneteau, Jeanneau or Hanse, who may well have one already. Also anyone who wants a cheap tunnel unit with a real manual behind it.
  • The main strength. The manual prints fuse, cable and thrust for every model. The warranty runs a minimum of 3 years. One owner found the unit "significantly cheaper than the sleipner".
  • The main limits. The run limit (about 5 minutes) is only in the control panel's manual. The warranty is void if anyone Quick has not authorized does the yearly service. Parts come through an agent, and one owner was still waiting after six months.
  • What it costs. Unit only, the priced rows in our database run from $2,183.71 to $26,475.69. Our yard estimate for a BTQ 185 on a sailboat is $11,336 to $26,256 all in.

What they publish

Our database holds three Quick series: 27 sizes in 10 models. With the 12 V and 24 V versions counted apart, that is 37 listings, each with its own price.

The list is the database, by type and series, with a line on what each series adds. Open a type to see its models.

The table under it is the maker's own ladder from its category pages. It is the same on the Italian and US sites, and it shows the boat size each series page and each product page gives.

Why some columns are missing. Quick's thruster manuals print no current draw for any size; they give the fuse, cable and battery instead. Nor does it print a run time per model: the thruster manual sends you to the control panel's manual, which gives about 5 minutes for every size. That rule is on each series line below.

Tunnel thrusters A tube through the hull 8 models
Quick’s tunnel thrusters, by series, a build of the same size indented under its standard unit. Thrust is the maker’s, in pounds with kilograms under it. Motor is the maker's rating. A dash means no figure on file. “Same” means the standard unit’s figure applies. Prices are the dealer’s, dated on each model’s page.
Model ThrustMotorTunnelBoat length Price
BTQ 5 models The base range: one propeller in the tunnel. Run time, as published: Not on any product page. The manual sends you to the control panel's manual, which says about 5 minutes.
BTQ 110 55 lb 25 kgf 1.3 kW110 mm16 to 25 ft $2,184
BTQ 125 66–88 lb 30–40 kgf 1.5 to 2.2 kW125 mm20 to 29 ft $2,511–$2,754
BTQ 140 44–88 lb 20–40 kgf 1.3 to 2.2 kW140 mm20 to 29 ft $2,754–$3,281
BTQ 185 121–209 lb 55–95 kgf 3 to 6 kW185 mm26 to 49 ft $3,476–$7,511
BTQ 185 DC + coversold with a cover 121–187 lb 55–85 kgf 3 to 4.3 kWsame26 to 50 ft $4,562–$6,033
BTQ DP 3 models Adds a second propeller, the two turning opposite ways. Run time, as published: Not on any product page. The manual sends you to the control panel's manual, which says about 5 minutes.
BTQ 185 DP 143–231 lb 65–105 kgf 3.3 to 6.3 kW185 mm26 to 50 ft $4,201–$8,752
BTQ 250 265–529 lb 120–240 kgf 6.5 to 10 kW250 mm42 to 69 ft $8,624–$10,571
BTQ 300 551–595 lb 250–270 kgf 10 to 12 kW300 mm65 to 99 ft $11,962–$13,631
Retractable thrusters Lowers from a housing, lifts clear when stowed 2 models
Quick’s retractable thrusters, by series, a build of the same size indented under its standard unit. Thrust is the maker’s, in pounds with kilograms under it. Motor is the maker's rating. A dash means no figure on file. “Same” means the standard unit’s figure applies. Prices are the dealer’s, dated on each model’s page.
Model ThrustMotorBoreBoat length Price
BTR 2 models Drops out of the hull on twin propellers and tucks back up while you sail. Run time, as published: Not on any product page. The manual sends you to the control panel's manual, which says about 5 minutes.
BTR 185 143–231 lb 65–105 kgf 3.3 to 6.3 kW185 mm26 to 49 ft $12,436–$17,991
BTR 250 265–529 lb 120–240 kgf 6.5 to 10 kW250 mm42 to 79 ft† $23,840–$26,476

10 models in all. † The listing prints no boat length; this one is from Quick's category page.

Show Quick’s BTQ and BTR ladder (11 rows)
The maker's BTQ and BTR ladder from the category pages, read 13 September 2026. Each model's thrust and motor are as printed. The boat size is the series' "Boat size" on the category page, and the "Recommended boat length" on the series' own product page where it has one. The database rows behind the series open a spec card. The BTR 140 and BTR 300 are not in our database.
Series Model, kgf and watts Tunnel Category page Product page

Quick BTQ 110

Thrust
55 lbf (25 kgf)
Mounting
tunnel
Price
$2,183.71

The maker’s own listing, read 12 October 2026.

Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Quick USA
BTQ 110-25 P: 25 kgf, 1300 W, 12 V 110 mm 16 to 23 ft 16 to 23 ft

Quick BTQ 125

Thrust
66 to 88 lbf (30 to 40 kgf) across 2 sizes
Mounting
tunnel
Price
$2,510.57 to $2,753.97 across 2 sizes

The maker’s own listing, read 12 October 2026.

Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Quick USA
BTQ 125-30 P: 30 kgf, 1500 W, 12 V 125 mm 20 to 33 ft 20 to 29 ft
BTQ 125-40: 40 kgf, 2200 W, 12 V

Quick BTQ 140

Thrust
44 to 88 lbf (20 to 40 kgf) across 3 sizes
Mounting
tunnel
Price
$2,753.97 to $3,280.97 across 3 sizes

The maker’s own listing, read 12 October 2026.

Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Quick USA
BTQ 140-30: 30 kgf, 1500 W, 12 V 140 mm 20 to 33 ft 23 to 29 ft
BTQ 140-40: 40 kgf, 2200 W, 12 V

Quick BTQ 185

Thrust
121 to 209 lbf (55 to 95 kgf) across 6 sizes
Mounting
tunnel
Price
$3,475.85 to $7,510.83 across 6 sizes

The maker’s own listing, read 12 October 2026.

Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Quick USA
BTQ 185-55: 55 kgf, 3000 W, 12, 24 V 185 mm 26 to 50 ft 26 to 49 ft
BTQ 185-75: 75 kgf, 4000 W, 12, 24 V
BTQ 185-95: 95 kgf, 6000 W, 12, 24 V

Quick BTQ 185 DP

Thrust
143 to 231 lbf (65 to 105 kgf) across 6 sizes
Mounting
tunnel
Price
$4,200.50 to $8,751.68 across 6 sizes

The maker’s own listing, read 12 October 2026.

Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Quick USA
BTQ 185-65: 65 kgf, 3300 W, 12, 24 V 185 mm 26 to 50 ft 26 to 49 ft
BTQ 185-85: 85 kgf, 4300 W, 12, 24 V
BTQ 185-105: 105 kgf, 6300 W, 12, 24 V

Quick BTQ 250

Thrust
265 to 529 lbf (120 to 240 kgf) across 4 sizes
Mounting
tunnel
Price
$8,623.55 to $10,570.80 across 4 sizes

The maker’s own listing, read 12 October 2026.

Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Quick USA
BTQ 250-120: 120 kgf, 6500 W, 12, 24 V 250 mm 39 to 69 ft 45 to 69 ft
BTQ 250-140: 140 kgf, 8000 W, 24 V
BTQ 250-240: 240 kgf, 10000 W, 24 V

Quick BTQ 300

Thrust
551 to 595 lbf (250 to 270 kgf) across 2 sizes
Mounting
tunnel
Price
$11,961.70 to $13,630.77 across 2 sizes

The maker’s own listing, read 12 October 2026.

Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Quick USA
BTQ 300-250: 250 kgf, 10000 W, 24 V 300 mm 62 to 98 ft 65 to 99 ft
BTQ 300-270: 270 kgf, 12000 W, 24 V
BTQ 300-300: 300 kgf, 15000 W, 48 V
BTR 140 BTR 140-30: 30 kgf, 1500 W, 12 V 140 mm 26 to 33 ft no length on the page
BTR 140-40: 40 kgf, 2200 W, 12 V

Quick BTR 185

Thrust
143 to 231 lbf (65 to 105 kgf) across 6 sizes
Mounting
retractable
Price
$12,436.30 to $17,991.23 across 6 sizes

The maker’s own listing, read 12 October 2026.

Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Quick USA
BTR 185-65: 65 kgf, 3300 W, 12, 24 V 185 mm 29 to 52 ft no length on the page
BTR 185-85: 85 kgf, 4300 W, 12, 24 V
BTR 185-105: 105 kgf, 6300 W, 12, 24 V

Quick BTR 250

Thrust
265 to 529 lbf (120 to 240 kgf) across 3 sizes
Mounting
retractable
Price
$23,839.94 to $26,475.69 across 3 sizes

The maker’s own listing, read 12 October 2026.

Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Quick USA
BTR 250-120: 120 kgf, 6500 W, 24 V 250 mm 42 to 79 ft no length on the page
BTR 250-140: 140 kgf, 8000 W, 24 V
BTR 250-240: 240 kgf, 10000 W, 24 V
BTR 300 BTR 250-120 (as printed, for the BTR 300-250): 250 kgf, 10000 W, 24 V 300 mm 62 to 98 ft no length on the page
BTR 300-270: 270 kgf, 12000 W, 24 V
BTR 300-300: 300 kgf, 15000 W, 48 V

The spec cards carry the store's or the dealer's headline figure. A card for a series row shows its largest variant. The BTQ 140 row also holds a BTQ 140-20 (20 kgf, 1.3 kW) that the US store lists and had in stock on 23 September 2026. Neither the manual nor the category pages carry it. A surplus dealer does.

What they publish about the system

The rules that apply to the whole range, with a note where two of the maker's own documents disagree.
Rule Published Note
Run time BTQ manual: "not designed for continuous use", with the limit "as reported on the controls' manual". TCD manual: "about 5 minutes continuously". No product page prints it. QSY pages say 10 minutes.
Boat length The category page gives "Boat size" per series. The product page gives "Recommended boat length". The US store gives one per variant. 6 of 7 BTQ series differ between page and category
Thrust One figure per model, kgf and pounds, with no voltage named for it Manual prints 65 kgf as 55.1 lb
Tunnel depth "at least 0.75 times the diameter of the tunnel from the waterline" Same in both manuals
Tunnel length REV003A: "1.5 to 4 times the tunnel diameter" REV006C: "3-4 times". Both tolerate 6.
Warranty "a minimum period of 3 (three) years", to "the buyer or the user", "at zero duty (work) hours" Void without Quick-authorized maintenance and original parts. Removal and refitting are on you.
Battery Fuse and cable cross-section by run length, per model. Since REV005A, July 2025, also a recommended amp-hour group and a cranking-amp range per model. No current figure in any document read
Maintenance "Dismantle once a year": clean, replace the A block of zinc or aluminum bolted to the thruster that corrodes on purpose, so the seawater eats it instead of the gearbox. It is replaced when it is about half gone, usually once a year., check screws, seals and connections Consistent
Control panel A 2 second reversal delay. A low-voltage signal below 10.5 V, reset above 11.5. Off after 6 minutes idle. "Do not operate the bow thruster out of the water for more than 10 seconds" Consistent
Company size Company page: "more than 450 employees" US About page: "more than 420 employees"
US store Priced every model with a variant table in August Every page read "Something big is brewing! Our store is in the works and will be launching soon!" on 13 September 2026. The store was back with prices by 17 September 2026.

Sources: the BTQ series manual (REV003A, a dealer's mirror), the BTQ250/300 manual (REV006C, the maker's file), the TCD control manual (REV004A, a dealer's mirror) and the warranty conditions. The site pages are the company page and Quick USA's, the category pages for DC thrusters, retractables, QSY and QSY retractables. The product pages are for the BTQ 125, BTQ 140, BTQ 185, BTQ 250, BTQ 300, BTR 185, BT QSY 185 and TCD 2042. Last come the QSY and Gyro warranty press releases.

Five minutes, in the other manual

Open the BTQ installation manual at "Important cautions". The first line is "This thruster is not designed for continuous use. It is equipped with protections which limit its operation at a maximum time span, as reported on the controls’ manual." The BTQ250/300 manual says the same in the same words.

The thruster's own manual never prints the number. The control panel's manual does.

The TCD 1022/1042 manual lists "Protection against prolonged motor activity" among its automatic resets. It reads: "After activating the thruster for about 5 minutes continuously, the thruster command is interrupted." The reset "occurs automatically after a period of time, calculated by the control panel, necessary for the motor to cool."

The published rule: about five minutes at a stretch, then a rest the panel decides. A docking runs the thruster in bursts of a few seconds, so five minutes at a stretch is a limit a docking never reaches.

The same manual covers the rest of what you meet at the panel:

Reversing waits 2 seconds.

Low voltage. The panel signals a supply that drops below 10.5 V for more than a second. It clears the signal above 11.5.

Safety timer. The panel switches itself off after 6 minutes untouched.

Out of the water. The thruster is not to be run out of the water "for more than 10 seconds".

The A motor with no carbon brushes: electronics switch the current instead. Nothing wears inside the motor, it runs cooler, and it costs more. QSY range is the maker's own exception. Its product page says "reaching 10 minutes continuous operation". The September 2026 release promises "reduced noise and energy consumption" from "proprietary synchronous brushless technology".

No thread we read carries a QSY owner. The Small carbon blocks inside a motor that press on the spinning part and carry the current into it. They wear down, they shed dust, and they are the usual reason an old thruster motor stops. BTQ is the unit with a record.

Three boat-length bands for one unit

Quick sizes by boat length, like VETUS. It prints the answer in three places, and they do not agree. Take the BTQ 185, a series of three units at 55, 75, 95 Kilogram-force, the metric thrust rating most European makers publish. One kgf is about 2.2 pounds of push, so a 50 kgf unit is roughly 110 pounds.:

The category page, on both sites, says "Boat size 26-50 ft" for the whole series.

The product page says "Recommended boat length from 8-15 m (26-49 ft)".

The US store's page, when our database read it in August, gave each variant its own band. The 55 kgf unit got 26 to 36 ft, and the 75 and the 95 got wider bands.

Across the seven BTQ series, 6 product pages disagree with their category page. The BTQ 250's page starts at 45 ft where the category says 39. The BTQ 300's page runs to 99 where the category says 98.

What the smallest 185 can do at the top of each band

Our size calculator, the tool here that works out the thrust a boat needs, sizes the smallest BTQ 185, the 55 kgf unit, at the top of each band in a 15 knot breeze. At 36 ft, the top of the store's band for that unit, a A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. unit needs about 85 lb on a sailboat and about 88 lb on a motor yacht.

The unit's 121 lb steers either boat at about 18 knots.

At 50 ft, the top of the category page's band for the same series, the figures move to about 165 lb on the sailboat and about 168 lb on the motor yacht. There the 55 kgf unit's 121 lb steers either boat at about 13 knots. The series' largest unit, at 209 lb, steers either boat at about 17 knots.

All of that is our arithmetic on their length bands. The store's per-variant bands were the maker's most useful sizing statement, and the store no longer shows them.

Check your own boat. The calculator does the same sum for it.

What it drills

A A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one.. Every BTQ goes through the bow below the waterline in a tube of 110, 125, 140, 185, 250 or 300 mm, glassed in and faired smooth into the hull. The manual sets these rules for it:

Depth. The tube's center sits "at least 0.75 times the diameter of the tunnel from the waterline".

Length. The tube is 1.5 to 4 diameters long. The BTQ250/300 manual says 3 to 4. Either way, "up to 6 times the diameter can be tolerated".

The mouths. A rounded end at each one.

Drag. An indentation or a deflector on the back edge, so the tunnel does not drag.

Near the surface. A grating with a vertical mesh.

The manual's own diagram makes this site's argument about position: "The lever effect in the boat is proportional to the increase of the distance (L1 and L2) between the barycentre and the position of the tunnel A and B." It then says which to choose: "For greater The distance from the point the boat turns about to the place the push is applied. Double the distance and the same push turns the boat twice as hard. effect prefer position B". That is the one further forward.

The gearbox is bronze from the BTQ 140 up, and a hard plastic (the maker's "technopolymer") on the 110 and 125. The A block of zinc or aluminum bolted to the thruster that corrodes on purpose, so the seawater eats it instead of the gearbox. It is replaced when it is about half gone, usually once a year. is "independent from the gearbox and hence easily replaceable". An elastic The joint between the motor’s shaft and the gearbox below it. On many thrusters it is the part built to give way if the propeller jams, so the gears survive. sits between motor and The underwater part of a thruster: the housing in the tunnel that holds the gears and the propeller. The motor sits above it, inside the boat..

The BTR A thruster that lives inside the hull and drops down through a hatch when you press the button, then pulls back up. It leaves no permanent hole in the water flow. (140 to 300, and the QSY versions) drop a twin-propeller unit through a box in the bottom of the hull. An electric A small electric motor and screw that pushes a part into position. On a retractable thruster it is what lowers the unit out of the hull and raises it again. with A small switch that tells the controller a moving part has reached the end of its travel. It is how a retractable thruster knows it is fully down or fully up. A dirty or failed one stops the unit from running. and its own control box moves it. The maker calls it "a single moving body crossing the in-out barrier". It carries "a protection against mechanical overloading caused by accidental impacts when the system is open".

The BTR 140, for 26 to 33 ft, is on the category page and not in our database. The BTR 185, 29 to 52 ft, is the one with owner reports, below.

Tunnel or box, the boat is Lifting the boat out of the water on a travel lift or a trailer so work can be done below the waterline. It is billed separately from the job itself. for the job. The yard's price for a tunnel is on the cost page; our types page sets the kinds side by side.

Fuse, cable and the 2025 battery table

The manual is specific about the cable. Since July 2025 it names the battery too. Every model gets:

A fuse rating. A 250 A CNL DIN fuse on the 12 V BTQ 1805512, 350 A on the 12 V BTQ 1809512, and 500 A on the 48 V BTQ 3030048.

A cable size by run length. The length is the total run, positive plus negative, in three bands up to 20 m. The American wire gauge, the size scale for electrical cable. The number falls as the cable gets thicker: 2 AWG is thicker than 6, and 1/0, 2/0, 3/0 and 4/0 are thicker still. equivalent is printed beside each.

No document we read gives a current figure for any model. Thrust is one figure per model, with no voltage named and no low-voltage figure.

The battery table is new. The REV003A manual gave no Cold cranking amps: how much current a battery can deliver in a short, hard burst, which is the rating starter batteries carry. A thruster draws like a starter, so the makers size its battery this way rather than by capacity.-amp or How much a battery can supply slowly, over hours: ten amps for ten hours is a hundred amp-hours. It is the right measure for lights and a fridge. It is the wrong one for a thruster, which wants a lot of current for a few seconds. figure at all. The current revision, REV005A, July 2025, read 23 September 2026, adds a "Recommended battery table". For every BTQ model it gives a minimum battery group in amp-hours and a cranking-amp range to SAE J537. Across the ladder that runs from 450 to 1600 CCA.

Show the recommended battery table (24 rows)
Quick's recommended battery table, BTQ manual REV005A, July 2025, section 4.1, as printed.
ModelThrustVoltsBattery group (Ah)CCA (SAE J537)
BTQ 110251225 kgf12115 to 150450 to 800
BTQ 125301230 kgf12115 to 150450 to 800
BTQ 125401240 kgf12150 to 210800 to 1100
BTQ 140301230 kgf1280 to 115450 to 550
BTQ 140401240 kgf12115 to 150450 to 800
BTQ 180551255 kgf12115 to 150550 to 800
BTQ 180552455 kgf2480450
BTQ 180751275 kgf12160 to 210800 to 1100
BTQ 180752475 kgf24120 to 150450 to 800
BTQ 180951295 kgf12200 to 2501000 to 1100
BTQ 180952495 kgf24120 to 150550 to 800
BTQ 180651265 kgf12120 to 150550 to 800
BTQ 180652465 kgf2480 to 115450 to 550
BTQ 180851285 kgf12200 to 2501000 to 1100
BTQ 180852485 kgf24150 to 200800 to 1000
BTQ 1810512105 kgf12250 to 3001100 to 1600
BTQ 1810524105 kgf24150 to 200800 to 1000
BTQ 2512012120 kgf12250 to 3001100 to 1600
BTQ 2512024120 kgf24120 to 150550 to 800
BTQ 2514024140 kgf24120 to 150550 to 800
BTQ 2524024240 kgf24200 to 2501000 to 1100
BTQ 3025024250 kgf24150 to 200800 to 1000
BTQ 3027024270 kgf24250 to 3001000 to 1100
BTQ 3030048300 kgf48200 to 2501000 to 1100

One Hanse owner did the sum his manual would not. He started from the motor: "the manual says the motor is rated at 4.0kW (333A at run but obviously more at start)". He set that against the 90 Ah battery the builder had fitted a meter from it. His conclusion: "the supplied battery at 90Ah is less than other manufacturers are recommending as a minimum."

Our battery page carries the makers that do publish one. The wiring page has the cable rules.

The control side is separate and low-current. A 4 A fast fuse protects the panel's own supply. That supply is taken "from the service battery", never from the thruster bank. The panel's low-voltage signal at 10.5 V watches that supply only. It never sees the motor's.

On a A thruster that lives inside the hull and drops down through a hatch when you press the button, then pulls back up. It leaves no permanent hole in the water flow., the A small electric motor and screw that pushes a part into position. On a retractable thruster it is what lowers the unit out of the hull and raises it again. and its control box run from the service bank too. That is why a 2014 owner chasing a random shutdown found the thruster battery could not be the cause, and the control-unit supply might be.

The US store and the dealer 450 miles away

Quick USA has been the maker's own company here since 2006. It was founded in Maryland and is now in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Its own footer reads "Company subject to management and coordination by Quick S.p.A.". Its web store is where our database read Quick's US prices and per-variant boat-length tables in August.

On 13 September 2026, every one of the 10 product pages the database cites printed the same notice and nothing else: "Great things are on the horizon. Something big is brewing! Our store is in the works and will be launching soon!" The thruster category page said the same.

By 17 September 2026 the same pages were back, priced per variant and in stock, so it was a relaunch. On the one part number both priced, the BTQ 185-55, 24 V, the store's 17 September 2026 figure of $3,475.85 is 1.8 times Mauripro's $1,930.00 (our division). On 11 October 2026, with every Mauripro listing out of stock, the database moved those rows to the store's own prices.

One 2023 thread shows what an empty store means for an owner. A new Jeanneau's factory BTQ 140 would not run. The owner wrote: "A couple times it did activate and run so parts are good". Then the fault: "The auto main switch trips within seconds of manually resetting it."

What the maker's US arm told him. "QuickUSA has only suggested contacting Dealer for starting procedure & Dealer is 450 miles away."

A second Jeanneau owner in the same thread had the same fault: "Our Leader 9.0 is doing the same exact thing... My dealer is going to look at it next week." No resolution was posted. In that thread, Quick USA's answer was the boat dealer.

The warranty and its conditions

The US warranty page is the same text the manual says comes in the box. It reads: "All articles sold by Quick are guaranteed for a minimum period of 3 (three) years from the date of purchase of the product at zero duty (work) hours. The warranty covers all manufacturing faults."

The holder is "the buyer or the user of the product". That is wider than most makers' wording.

The conditions

The warranty is void for:

  • "Incorrect or improper installation"
  • "Maintenance carried out by personnel not authorized by Quick"
  • "Use of non original spare parts"
  • "Dismantling or removal of the components of the item"

It also limits what Quick pays for. In its own words: "The guarantee does not specify complete replacement of the item... Replacement or repair is solely at the discretion of Quick."

  • It "does not include packing and transport costs, or any travel expenses".
  • "The buyer is responsible for all costs resulting from the removal and re-installation of the product".
  • There is no refund "for the immobilization of the boat".

Read as a boat owner. The manual tells you to "Dismantle once a year" and change the A block of zinc or aluminum bolted to the thruster that corrodes on purpose, so the seawater eats it instead of the gearbox. It is replaced when it is about half gone, usually once a year.. The warranty says maintenance by anyone Quick has not authorized voids it. To keep the warranty, the yearly dismantle has to be done by someone Quick has authorized.

The one warranty case on record went well. The Swift Trawler 34's factory stern unit "died (replaced under warranty)".

The parts cases did not. One owner: "You have to order through an agent as Quick will not supply you direct". Another was "still awaiting spare parts from Hanse, over 6 month now".

For scale, the group's own January 2026 release describes the Quick Gyro stabilizer's "standard two-year warranty", extended to four on registration. The thruster's three years is longer than the stabilizer's standard two, and a year short of its registered four.

What owners report

The reports come from builders' customers, mostly Hanse and Beneteau owners, from 2014 to 2026.

The A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. BTQ. A Beneteau 41 owner, two seasons in: "The thruster gets a lot of usage and never had a lick of trouble yet." A Swift Trawler 34 had two factory units, and one was replaced under warranty. Its owner adds: "when the wind blows on my short but very tall boat it easily overcomes the thruster".

Other BTQ faults on record. A new Jeanneau's BTQ 140 tripped its main switch. A 2014 Hanse 575's unit turned "extremely slowly" until the joint was found broken. A 2016 fault was chased through Small carbon blocks inside a motor that press on the spinning part and carry the current into it. They wear down, they shed dust, and they are the usual reason an old thruster motor stops., a A small electrical switch that a low current closes so a bigger current can flow. A thruster panel works the motor through one, and a relay that sticks closed keeps the motor running. Relay, solenoid and contactor are three names for this one part. and the circuit board.

The BTR A thruster that lives inside the hull and drops down through a hatch when you press the button, then pulls back up. It leaves no permanent hole in the water flow.. A brand-new Hanse 445's unit shut down at random with a A small switch that tells the controller a moving part has reached the end of its travel. It is how a retractable thruster knows it is fully down or fully up. A dirty or failed one stops the unit from running. error. A new A small electric motor and screw that pushes a part into position. On a retractable thruster it is what lowers the unit out of the hull and raises it again. made no difference. On a 2013 unit the ram sensor failed, a Mk 2 ram and control box went in, and then the motor died. The UK distributor "says... cannot be repaired".

Price. One owner found it "significantly cheaper than the sleipner". Another asked: "is it worth twice the price of a Lewmar unit with the same power?" A new BTQ 140-40 motor cost AU$1,530 in Australia.

The brand. One owner trusted the factory fit: "if a major boat manufacturer is installing them they cant be too bad". Another was wary: "I'd be suspect if I were you". A third hedged: "I'm not endorsing Quick."

Strengths and limitations

Of the limitations, 5 are findings from reading the maker's documents against each other and against its store. The rest are owners' accounts.

What holds up

  • The manual prints the whole ladder on two pages. For every model it gives motor, voltage, fuse, thrust in kgf and pounds, weight, the tunnel wall thickness the unit will take, and a cable cross-section by run length (positive plus negative) in square millimeters and AWG. The 12 V BTQ 1805512 wants a 250 A fuse; the 12 V BTQ 1809512 a 350 A one. Published BTQ series manual REV003A, read 13 September 2026
  • A written run-time rule with a number, once you find it. The control panel cuts the command after "about 5 minutes continuously" and resets itself "after a period of time, calculated by the control panel, necessary for the motor to cool". The same panel refuses a reversal for 2 seconds, signals a supply below 10.5 V, and switches itself off after 6 minutes untouched. Published TCD 1022/1042 manual REV004A, read 13 September 2026
  • The maker states the lever this site sizes by, in its own manual: "The lever effect in the boat is proportional to the increase of the distance (L1 and L2) between the barycentre and the position of the tunnel A and B." And: "For greater lever effect prefer position B", the one further from the boat's center. The depth rule is at least 0.75 times the diameter under the waterline, the tunnel 1.5 to 4 diameters long, up to 6 "tolerated". Published BTQ series manual REV003A, read 13 September 2026
  • Factory fitment, and a clean record from owners who did not choose it. A Beneteau 41 owner: "I had never heard of them before I bought a B41. I've had it two years now. The thruster gets a lot of usage and never had a lick of trouble yet." The dealer selling that boat "says Beneteau now fit these as standard". A Hanse owner says the same of his builder: "Hanse fit this make as standard". A Swift Trawler 34's factory stern unit "died (replaced under warranty)". Its owner adds: "that's not unusual for any thruster." Reported Breezydays, Sailboat Owners, Nov 2014; ashtead and Bouba, YBW, Aug 2019
  • Price. One owner compared it with the market leader: "The Quicke thruster is significantly cheaper than the sleipner". He also reasoned from the factory fit: "if a major boat manufacturer is installing them they cant be too bad." A dealer, Mauripro, listed six units on 13 September 2026 at 50.7% to 61.5% of the maker's store price now (our division), each under a crossed-out figure 4.5% to 4.6% higher (our division). By 2 October 2026 every one read "Unavailable". Reported Beamishken, YBW, Aug 2019; Mauripro listings, read 13 September 2026
  • A three-year minimum warranty in writing, to "the buyer or the user", "at zero duty (work) hours", covering "all manufacturing faults". Behind it: Quick S.p.A. of Piangipane, near Ravenna, Italy, which has built thrusters since 2007, with a US company from 2006 and a UK one from 2018. Published US warranty page and company page, read 13 September 2026; Boating Industry Canada, May 2023
  • The brushless QSY range, announced complete for Cannes Yachting Festival, September 2026: 17 models from 50 to 350 kgf, a new 215 mm tunnel between the 185 and the 250, and "10 minutes continuous operation" on the product page against the brushed range's five. Published Press release, 1 Sep 2026; BT QSY 185 page and QSY category pages, read 13 September 2026

What does not

  • The run time is on no product page. The BTQ manual says the unit "is not designed for continuous use" and sends you to "the controls' manual" for the limit. That manual, for a different product, says 5 minutes. Read only the thruster's own documents and you never see a number. Finding BTQ series manual REV003A, BTQ250/300 manual REV006C and TCD manual REV004A, read 13 September 2026
  • One unit, three boat-length bands. The BTQ 185 category page says 26 to 50 ft and its product page 26 to 49. The US store's own table in August gave the BTQ 185-55 26 to 36 ft and each bigger variant its own band. Of the seven BTQ series, 6 have a product page that disagrees with the category page, the BTQ 250 by 6 ft at the bottom. Finding Category pages, product pages and the database's August capture, read 13 September 2026
  • Misprints in the maker's own tables. The REV003A manual gives the 65 kgf twin-propeller unit as "65 kgf (55.1 lb)", the 25 kgf unit's pounds. The retractable category page's BTR 300 table opens with a row labeled "BTR 250-120 DC 24 V 10000 W 250 Kgf 300 Ø mm". The QSY retractable page prints "BTR QSY 300-300 DC 48 V 16000 W 200 Kgf 300 Ø mm", a 300 model at 200 kgf. Finding Manual REV003A and quickusa.com category pages, read 13 September 2026
  • The US store had no products on 13 September 2026. Every quickusastore.com page our database cites (10 of them) printed "Great things are on the horizon. Something big is brewing! Our store is in the works and will be launching soon!" where in August it printed a price and a variant table. By 17 September 2026 the same pages were back with prices and every variant in stock. A new Jeanneau owner in 2023: "QuickUSA has only suggested contacting Dealer for starting procedure & Dealer is 450 miles away." Finding quickusastore.com, read 13 September 2026; mwg5644, Jeanneau Owners forum, Jun 2023
  • The warranty is void for "Maintenance carried out by personnel not authorized by Quick" and "Use of non original spare parts". "The buyer is responsible for all costs resulting from the removal and re-installation of the product", plus transport, travel, and "the immobilization of the boat". Replacement or repair is "solely at the discretion of Quick". A yearly dismantle and anode change is the manual's own maintenance schedule. Do it yourself and it can be held against a claim. Published US warranty page and manual REV003A, read 13 September 2026
  • The retractable's electronics are the failure on record. A brand-new Hanse 445's BTR185/85 in 2014: "an annoying random shutdown" with a limit-switch error, the actuator replaced "Alas the problem remained." A 2013 unit's ram in 2017: "an internal sensor failed. This was the Mk 1 version fitted to the first 415s. Due to failures of one kind or another a Mk 2 version of the ram & control box was fitted later." The same month, the motor failed: "It deployed but the motor did not run". The verdict on it: "The U.K. distributor says the motor cannot be repaired". Two owners' manuals read the same four-flash code two different ways. Reported Samtutuki, myHanse, Aug 2014; Nigel and Mark, myHanse, Nov 2017
  • Parts come through an agent, slowly. "The new parts cost 1,150 (currency not stated) with shipping. You have to order through an agent as Quick will not supply you direct." A replacement motor was "1,550 (currency not stated) without shipping". Another owner: "Our bow thruster died after about a year and a half and I'm still awaiting spare parts from Hanse, over 6 month now." A 2016 fault went brushes, relay, then the PCB, with the electrician "awaiting answers from Quick in Italy". A Hanse 575's 2014 unit stopped pushing in 2021: "it's the homocynetic joint in the thruster. It's broken", a haul-out to reach. Reported Nigel, myHanse, Nov 2017; Konstantin and Nigel, myHanse, Jul 2016; Boomjack, myHanse, Jul 2021
  • No current figure anywhere, and no battery figure until 2025. The manual the site read first (REV003A) gives fuse and cable and nothing about the bank. The current revision, REV005A, July 2025, adds a recommended battery group in amp-hours for every model. It also adds a cranking-amp range, from 450 to 1600 CCA. A Hanse owner read his manual this way: "the manual says the motor is rated at 4.0kW (333A at run but obviously more at start)... it is interesting that the supplied battery at 90Ah is less than other manufacturers are recommending as a minimum." Thrust is one figure per model, with no voltage named and no low-voltage figure. The BTQ 250 ladder makes 24.0 kgf per kilowatt on the 240, against 17.5 on the 140 and 18.5 on the 120 (our division of the manual's figures). The maker's pages do not explain it. Finding Manual REV003A; Samtutuki, myHanse, Aug 2014
  • Every version needs the boat out of the water to fit. The BTR retractable adds an actuator, limit switches and a control box to what can stop it. One 2014 poster's opinion, which we have not checked: "I never hear of Quick. I'd be suspect if I were you". A Hanse owner in 2024 was just as gloomy: "We have Quick which I'm sure will pack up in not too distant future." Reported GJ, Sailboat Owners, Nov 2014; ashtead, YBW, Sep 2024

Who it is for

Good fit if

You own a Beneteau, Jeanneau or Hanse built in the last decade. You may well have a BTQ already. This page puts its manual, its warranty and the panel's five minutes in one place.

You are buying a A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. unit and want a cheap one. The BTQ has a real manual behind it. It takes the same holes and the same yard job as a Sleipner or a VETUS. Parts come through an agent; see the record above.

You sail a boat that will not carry a tunnel's drag. The BTR A thruster that lives inside the hull and drops down through a hatch when you press the button, then pulls back up. It leaves no permanent hole in the water flow. suits it. Read the A small electric motor and screw that pushes a part into position. On a retractable thruster it is what lowers the unit out of the hull and raises it again. and control-box record above first.

You want A motor with no carbon brushes: electronics switch the current instead. Nothing wears inside the motor, it runs cooler, and it costs more.. The QSY is the maker's answer to Sleipner's E-series and VETUS's BOW PRO. It is new enough that no owner has written about one.

Look elsewhere if

You cannot haul the boat out. The job needs the boat out of the water.

You want battery guidance with a long record. The maker's battery table dates only from July 2025.

You are far from a dealer. The US store was empty for part of September.

You plan to do the yearly service yourself. The warranty does not survive a yearly dismantle by anyone Quick has not authorized.

To weigh the BTQ 185 against the other routes at your boat's length, open the sailboat guide or the trawler guide.

What it costs

Every Quick price in our database is the maker's own US store, 37 rows captured 12 October 2026, one for every size at every voltage the store sells, each at its own price.

Until 11 October 2026 a dealer, Mauripro, priced six of those units. On 13 September 2026 each of its listings sat beneath a crossed-out figure 4.5% to 4.6% above it (our division). On 2 October 2026 every one read "Unavailable", so the database moved to the store's prices. The table below keeps what Mauripro printed beside what the store asks now.

Every figure below is the unit alone. That is before the A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one., the panel, cable, battery and labor. The cost page prints these rows with the tunnel and labor bands around them.

Quick units with a published US price in our database, captured 12 October 2026 to 12 October 2026. A series row prints the smallest to the largest variant's price. The source is the page the row was read from.
Row Series Thrust Source Price
BTQ 55 lb Quick USA store $2,183.71
BTQ 66–88 lb Quick USA store $2,510.57–$2,753.97
BTQ 44–88 lb Quick USA store $2,753.97–$3,280.97
BTQ 121–209 lb Quick USA store $3,475.85–$7,510.83

Quick BTQ 185 DC Bow Thruster + cover

Thrust
121 to 187 lbf (55 to 85 kgf) across 4 sizes
Mounting
tunnel
Price
$4,562.14 to $6,033.06 across 4 sizes

The maker’s own listing, read 12 October 2026.

Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Quick USA
BTQ 121–187 lb Quick USA store $4,562.14–$6,033.06
BTQ DP 143–231 lb Quick USA store $4,200.50–$8,751.68
BTQ DP 265–529 lb Quick USA store $8,623.55–$10,570.80
BTQ DP 551–595 lb Quick USA store $11,961.70–$13,630.77
BTR 143–231 lb Quick USA store $12,436.30–$17,991.23
BTR 265–529 lb Quick USA store $23,839.94–$26,475.69
Mauripro's six Quick listings as printed on 13 September 2026 (the crossed-out figure, the price, and the share between them, our division), beside Quick's US store price for the same unit on 11 October 2026.
Model Crossed out Mauripro price Share Quick store now
$2,017.63 $1,930.00 4.5% $3,475.85
$3,984.79 $3,810.00 4.6% $7,510.83
$5,005.71 $4,790.00 4.5% $8,623.55
$8,338.53 $7,980.00 4.5% $15,717.11
$2,510.93 $2,400.00 4.6% $4,325.68
$6,797.39 $6,500.00 4.6% $10,570.80

Installed, there is no figure on record. No owner we read posted an invoice for fitting a Quick; every one of them got the unit with the boat.

Parts prices come from a Hanse owner in Europe who does not say which currency:

  • A Mk 2 ram and control box for a BTR: "1,150 (currency not stated) with shipping".
  • A replacement BTR motor: "1,550 (currency not stated) without shipping".

A new BTQ 140-40 motor cost AU$1,530 in Australia in 2026.

Our own yard estimate for the BTQ 185 on the sailboat row of the cost matrix is $11,336 to $26,256 all in. The figure is the yard estimate the thruster finder, our free tool that matches a thruster to your boat, gives for that length.

What the tables get wrong

The BTQ series manual's technical data prints the twin-propeller 65 Kilogram-force, the metric thrust rating most European makers publish. One kgf is about 2.2 pounds of push, so a 50 kgf unit is roughly 110 pounds. unit as "65 kgf (55.1 lb)" at both voltages. That 55.1 lb is the 25 kgf unit's figure two pages earlier, and 65 kgf is 143 lb (our arithmetic).

The A thruster that lives inside the hull and drops down through a hatch when you press the button, then pulls back up. It leaves no permanent hole in the water flow. category page's BTR 300 table opens with a row labeled "BTR 250-120 DC 24 V 10000 W 250 Kgf 300 Ø mm", the BTR 300-250 under the BTR 250-120's name. The QSY retractable page's one BTR QSY 300 row reads "BTR QSY 300-300 DC 48 V 16000 W 200 Kgf 300 Ø mm", a "300" model at 200 kgf beside a A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. unit of the same name at 300. Mauripro's listing for the BTR 185-85 retractable (its part number says BTR) is titled as a BTQ 185 tunnel unit.

One figure is harder to explain, and it is one to put to Quick before you order. On the BTQ 250 ladder the 120 kgf unit has a 6.5 kW motor, the 140 an 8 kW one and the 240 a 10 kW one: 18.5, 17.5 and 24.0 kgf per kilowatt (our division of the manual's figures).

The BTQ 300-250, with the same 10 kW motor in a 300 mm tunnel, makes 250 kgf, 25.0 per kilowatt. A propeller can be pitched for more thrust at more current, and a 250 mm tunnel with a 10 kW motor may simply carry a different propeller. The maker's pages do not say.

Videos

Two of Quick’s own videos, from its YouTube channel: the 2025 BT QSY range, and an older clip of its retractable deploying. They are the maker’s pitch. Watch them for what the units look like and how they go in, and take the claims to the sections above.

Quick’s own video, on Quick’s YouTube channel. The picture is a still from it.
Quick’s own video, on Quick’s YouTube channel. The picture is a still from it.

Questions to ask before you order

Most of these are answered in one of the manuals. Put them to the yard anyway, and get the answers for your own boat in writing before the A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. is cut, or before you accept the unit the builder chose.

Which of the three boat-length bands is the quote using? The category page and the product page differ by up to 6 ft, and the store's per-variant table narrowed the BTQ 185-55 to 26 to 36 ft against the category's 26 to 50. Take our 15 knot figure in with you.

Which control panel, and what does its manual say the run limit is? The thruster manual defers to it; the TCD 1022/1042 says about 5 minutes.

What battery, and how far from the unit? The current manual (REV005A, July 2025) gives an amp-hour group and a Cold cranking amps: how much current a battery can deliver in a short, hard burst, which is the rating starter batteries carry. A thruster draws like a starter, so the makers size its battery this way rather than by capacity.-amp range per model; older revisions gave fuse and cable only. Ask which the installer sized to.

Who does the yearly dismantle and A block of zinc or aluminum bolted to the thruster that corrodes on purpose, so the seawater eats it instead of the gearbox. It is replaced when it is about half gone, usually once a year., and are they "authorized by Quick"? The warranty is void otherwise, and for non-original parts.

Who is the dealer, and how far away? The US store was empty on 13 September 2026 and back by 17 September 2026; one owner's dealer was 450 miles off. Parts come "through an agent".

For a BTR: which ram and control box, Mk 1 or Mk 2? The 2017 owner's sensor failure was the Mk 1; a Mk 2 ram and control box was fitted later.

BTQ or QSY? Five minutes on the Small carbon blocks inside a motor that press on the spinning part and carry the current into it. They wear down, they shed dust, and they are the usual reason an old thruster motor stops. unit by the panel's manual, ten on the A motor with no carbon brushes: electronics switch the current instead. Nothing wears inside the motor, it runs cooler, and it costs more. by its page; no QSY owner report yet.

Which thrust figure, at what voltage? Quick prints one figure and no voltage for it. A competitor's may be at 10.5 V.

Where to go next

More in this section: Every thruster on this site VETUS thruster review Sleipner (Side-Power) review Sideshift thruster review Lewmar thruster review DockStar Smart Thruster review Max Power thruster review Yacht Thruster and ezDrive review Jet Thruster review

The prices and specs on this page are as published on the dates shown, and our yard estimate is for planning. None of it is an inspection of your boat. Check any thruster, cable or battery against the maker's manual and with your yard before you buy or fit anything. The full wording is in our terms.