We may earn a referral commission from some links on this page. It doesn't change your price or our recommendations.
Max Power thruster review: what they publish, who it suits
Beneteau and Jeanneau put this Italian tunnel unit in the bow of many of their sailboats, so plenty of owners met it before they knew the name. This review puts the maker's own documents, the owner reports and one US dealer's prices in one place. If you already have one, or a yard has quoted you one, start with the short answer below.
How this review was made. From the documents and from owners: nobody here has fitted or run a Max Power, and every figure names its source. We read the maker's product pages, its selection chart, its FAQ, its warranty conditions and its dealer list on 15 September 2026, and the CT100/CT125 installation manual of July 2024. Prices come from one US dealer's listings read the same day. Owner reports come from the forums, 2015 to 2024. When the manual and a product page disagree, you get both figures.
The short answer
The CT range is a brushed A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. unit with a sealed composite drive leg, fitted through the bow below the waterline. The stern pods bolt on from outside the The flat surface across the very back of the boat.. The ECO range is the maker's proportional unit for lithium batteries.
Owners of Beneteau and Jeanneau sailboats from the late 2000s and the 2010s, many of whom have one in the bow already. The CT100's product page says 32 to 51 ft, and the maker's chart narrows that by how much wind your boat catches.
The paperwork. The manual prints a run time, a cable table, a fuse per model and an example battery. The selection chart asks about The area of the boat the wind can push on: the hull sides, the cabin, the mast and rigging, or the canopy. A tall, boxy boat has a lot of it, and wind force does not care how slowly you are moving. before it asks about length.
The maker publishes no price. The warranty is void for damage from repairs by an unauthorized service center, and the manual's maintenance section wants all maintenance done by authorized personnel. The fault owners report, three times over, is a heat sensor.
One US dealer listed the CT100 at 12 V for $2,824.33, unit alone, on 15 September 2026. That dealer's units ran from $1,276.42 to $6,509.83. A yard's tunnel install comes on top of that.
What they publish
Max Power was founded in 1987 in Mandelieu, France, and its thrusters have been built near Milan since 2011. It is now a Lalizas company. Our database holds 40 of its units, from a 66 lb tunnel unit to a 992 lb one, with stern pods that bolt on from outside the transom. The maker publishes no price. Its own list names 10 US dealers.
Our database holds every electric unit on the maker's tunnel and retractable pages:
- the CT range;
- the ignition-protected versions, for gasoline boats;
- the ECO proportional range;
- the stern pods;
- the electric retractables, VIP 150, VIP 250, their ECO versions and the Compact Retract (added 12 October 2026).
The six hydraulic tunnel units, the hydraulic VIP retractables and the R series are on the maker's site and not in our database, which holds electric units only.
The list below is the database by type and series, with a line on what each series adds and the run-time rule its documents give. An ignition-protected build, another leg or another voltage sits under the model it is built on. Open a type to see its models; every name opens that model’s page.
Tunnel thrusters A tube through the hull 28 models
| Model | Thrust | Motor | Current | Tunnel | Boat length | Run time, min | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CT 23 models The base range: full on or off. Some sizes come ignition-protected, on another leg or at another voltage. Run time, as published: Not on any product page. The CT100/CT125 manual says S2 3 minutes. | |||||||
| CT25 | 66 lb 30 kgf | 1.8 kW | 250 A · 12 V | 110 mm | Up to 24 ft† | 2–3 | No US price |
| CT35 | 77 lb 35 kgf | 2.69 kW | 250 A · 12 V | 125 mm | 17 to 31 ft† | 2–3 | $1,276 |
| CT35-IPIgnition-protected | same | same | same | same | 17 to 34 ft† | same | $2,456 |
| CT45 | 99 lb 45 kgf | 3.23 kW | 250 A · 12 V | 125 mm | Not published | 2–3 | $1,473 |
| CT45-IPIgnition-protected | 88 lb 40 kgf | same | same | same | same | same | $2,456 |
| CT60 (12 V) | 154 lb 70 kgf | 4.35 kW | 400 A · 12 V | 185 mm | 25 to 39 ft | 2–3 | $1,719 |
| CT60 (24 V)At 24 V | 157 lb 71 kgf | 4.4 kW | 280 A · 24 V | same | same | same | $1,719 |
| CT80 (12 V) | 176 lb 80 kgf | 4.79 kW | 400 A · 12 V | 185 mm | Not published | 2–3 | $1,780 |
| CT80 (24 V)At 24 V | 196 lb 89 kgf | 5.28 kW | 280 A · 24 V | same | same | same | $1,780 |
| CT100 | 231 lb 105 kgf | 7.1 kW | 680 A · 12 V | 185 mm | 32 to 51 ft† | 2–3 | $2,824 |
| CT100-IPIgnition-protected | 212 lb 96 kgf | same | same | same | 31 to 50 ft† | same | $4,237 |
| CT125 (24 V) | 254 lb 115 kgf | 8.58 kW | 430 A · 24 V | 185 mm | 35 to 60 ft† | 2–3 | $2,947 |
| CT125 (48 V)At 48 V | 269 lb 122 kgf | same | 210 A · 48 V | same | same | same | No US price |
| CT125-IPIgnition-protected | same | same | same | same | same | same | $4,237 |
| CT165 | 408 lb 185 kgf | 11.88 kW | 560 A · 24 V | 250 mm | Not published | 2–3 | $3,684 |
| CT225 (composite leg) | 551 lb 250 kgf | 14.96 kW | 690 A · 24 V | 250 mm | Not published | 2–3 | $3,991 |
| CT225 (bronze leg)Bronze leg | same | same | same | same | same | same | No US price |
| CT300 (24 V) | 661 lb 300 kgf | 19.7 kW | 980 A · 24 V | 300 mm | 48 to 93 ft† | 2–3 | No US price |
| CT300 (48 V)At 48 V | 606 lb 275 kgf | 17.5 kW | 530 A · 48 V | same | Not published | same | No US price |
| CT325 (24 V) | 717 lb 325 kgf | 19.69 kW | 980 A · 24 V | 315 mm | Not published | 2–3 | $6,510 |
| CT325 (48 V)At 48 V | 661 lb 300 kgf | 17.5 kW | 530 A · 48 V | same | same | same | No US price |
| CT325 (aluminum leg)Aluminum leg | same | same | same | same | same | same | No US price |
| CT550 (three-phase) | 992 lb 450 kgf | 30 kW | 53 A | 400 mm | Not published | Continuous | No US price |
| ECO 5 models Adds proportional control and a brushless motor, and is designed to run on lithium. Run time, as published: "Unlimited runtime (until the battery runs out)" on the ECO 90 page | |||||||
| ECO 90 | 198 lb 90 kgf | 5.3 kW | 260 A · 24 V | 185 mm | 28 to 46 ft† | Continuous | No US price |
| ECO 110 | 243 lb 110 kgf | 6 kW | 290 A · 24 V | 185 mm | 32 to 51 ft | Continuous | No US price |
| ECO 130 | 287 lb 130 kgf | 8 kW | 190 A · 48 V | 185 mm | 35 to 60 ft | Continuous | No US price |
| ECO 150 | 320 lb 145 kgf | 9.5 kW | 290 A · 24 V | 250 mm | 37 to 62 ft | Continuous | No US price |
| ECO 225 | 551 lb 250 kgf | 14.96 kW | — | 250 mm | 45 to 75 ft | Continuous | No US price |
Retractable thrusters Lowers from a housing, lifts clear when stowed 5 models
| Model | Thrust | Motor | Current | Bore | Boat length | Run time, min | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VIP 2 models Drops out of the hull to push and lifts back into its housing, so the hull stays smooth under way. Run time, as published: The VIP manual says S2 2 minutes. | |||||||
| VIP 150 | 212–254 lb 96–115 kgf | 7.1 to 8.56 kW | 210 A · 48 V | 185 mm | 40 to 60 ft | 2–2 · 12 V2–2 · 24 V2–2.5 · 48 V | $8,598–$8,698 |
| VIP 250 | 320–551 lb 145–250 kgf | 9.5 to 15 kW | 330–690 A · 24 V | 250 mm | 40 to 60 ft | 2–2 | No US price |
| VIP ECO 2 models Adds proportional control and a brushless motor that runs seven minutes straight at full power. Run time, as published: The VIP ECO manuals give 7 minutes of continuous running at full power. | |||||||
| VIP 150 ECO | 243–287 lb 110–130 kgf | 6 to 8 kW | 340 A · 24 V190 A · 48 V | 185 mm | 30 to 51 ft | 7 | No US price |
| VIP 250 ECO | 320–551 lb 145–250 kgf | 9 to 14.96 kW | 340 A · 24 V190 A · 48 V | 250 mm | 35 to 105 ft | 7 | No US price |
| Compact Retract 1 model A light composite retractable that bolts onto a flange instead of being laminated in. Run time, as published: The Compact manual says S2 2 minutes. | |||||||
| Compact Retract | 154–220 lb 70–100 kgf | 4.79 to 6 kW | 105 A · 48 V | 185 mm | 30 to 52 ft | 2–2 | $7,370 |
External thrusters Fitted outside the hull 7 models
| Model | Thrust | Motor | Current | Mount | Boat length | Run time, min | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CT stern pods 7 models A CT motor in a pod that bolts to the transom, for push at the stern. Run time, as published: Not on any product page. The CT100/CT125 manual says S2 3 minutes. | |||||||
| CT45 stern pod | 99 lb 45 kgf | 3.2 kW | 300 A · 12 V | Stern | 20 to 34 ft | 3 | $3,275 |
| CT80 stern pod (24 V) | 165 lb 75 kgf | 5.3 kW | 240 A · 24 V | Stern | 28 to 46 ft | 3 | $3,684 |
| CT80 stern pod (12 V)At 12 V | 152 lb 69 kgf | 4.8 kW | 446 A · 12 V | same | same | same | $4,299 |
| CT100 stern pod | 212 lb 96 kgf | 7.1 kW | 660 A · 12 V | Stern | 32 to 51 ft | 3 | $5,088 |
| CT125 stern pod | 254 lb 115 kgf | 8.6 kW | 389 A · 24 V | Stern | 34 to 59 ft | 3 | $4,913 |
| CT165 stern pod | 353 lb 160 kgf | 11.9 kW | 540 A · 24 V | Stern | 40 to 66 ft | 3 | $5,147 |
| CT225 stern pod | 430 lb 195 kgf | 15 kW | 680 A · 24 V | Stern | 45 to 73 ft | 3 | $5,615 |
40 models in all. † The listing prints no boat length; this one is from Max Power's product page; Max Power's selection chart, heavy to light boats.
What they publish about the system
| Rule | Published | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Run time | Manual: "S2-3mn norm", "Maximum running time: 2-3 min" | ECO 90 page: "Unlimited runtime (until the battery runs out)". No CT page prints one. |
| Boat length | A chart with three windage rows. Each product page gives one band. | The page's band is the chart's three rows merged |
| Thrust | One figure per voltage, "at an immersion depth of one tunnel's diameter, in a tunnel no longer than twice the tunnel's diameter", within 6% | Same sentence on every CT page read |
| Motor voltage | Product pages: "designed to run at 10.75V on 12V units and 22V on 24V units" | Manual: "approx. 10.5V for 12V models or 22V for 24V models" |
| Current | Manual: "approx. consumption of 680A and 11V for the CT100" | Same manual, next page: "Maximum Amperage" 550 A |
| Tunnel depth | "minimum acceptable tunnel position is 139 mm below the waterline". Ideal: 185 mm. | Consistent |
| Warranty | Website: "3 years from the date of purchase" | Manual: 2 years, plus 1 for registering within 3 months |
| Battery | "maintenance-free 'starting' type batteries, with high CCA outputs", example 55 Ah / 800 CCA | Support's email to one owner: 2400 CCA / 150 Ah for 10 minutes a day |
| Chemistry | FAQ: lead-acid, AGM or gel on the standard units. Lithium "will cause rapid deterioration" unless specified correctly. | ECO units "are designed to operate with" lithium |
| Maintenance | Composite leg sealed for life, no A block of zinc or aluminum bolted to the thruster that corrodes on purpose, so the seawater eats it instead of the gearbox. It is replaced when it is about half gone, usually once a year.. Blow the Small carbon blocks inside a motor that press on the spinning part and carry the current into it. They wear down, they shed dust, and they are the usual reason an old thruster motor stops. out with compressed air. | "All maintenance should be carried out by qualified and authorized personnel" |
| Price | None on any page or in the manual | One US dealer's ladder, below |
Sources: the CT100/CT125 manual (July 2024), the selection charts, the FAQ, and the warranty conditions. The site pages are the About page, the Global Network and retired models pages, the tunnel and retractable listings. The product pages are the CT 25, CT 35, CT35-IP, CT 60, CT 100, CT 125, CT 300, ECO 90, stern pod CT 45, stern pod CT 80, CT HYD 225 and VIP 150.
Three minutes in the manual, unlimited on the ECO page
Open the CT100/CT125 manual at "Tests" and the rule is there with a number: "The maximum continuous operating runtime corresponds to S2-3mn norm. However, this can be affected by the ambient temperature."
Two sections on, under "Operation", it says: "Maximum running time: 2-3 min (depending on ambient temperature)."
A motor rating from the electrical standards: the motor can run at full power for the stated number of minutes from cold, then must rest. "S2 - 4 min." means four minutes. is the motor rating that says how long a motor may run from cold at full load. No docking holds the button down for three minutes.
When it gets hot. A thermal switch in the motor protects it. When it trips, the panel beeps and the green light flashes. The manual says "there are 10 seconds of actual thruster use before the unit automatically shuts down". It then stays off until the motor has cooled.
When it switches itself off. Left alone for 30 minutes, the system switches itself off. That figure is from the manual for serials 42250 to 83327. The product page carries a second manual for units from 83338, and there the figure is 10 minutes.
The panel also holds a delay between left and right thrust "to avoid rapid direction changes". The manual does not say how long.
None of that is on a CT product page. The ECO 90's page says "Unlimited runtime (until the battery runs out)". The CT125, CT300 and VIP 150 pages promise the 48 V version a "50% increase in operation cycle" over the 24 V one.
So a standard unit is rated for 3 minutes, and an ECO unit for as long as its battery lasts. The 48 V pages do not say what the cycle is.
A chart by windage, and the band that merges it
Max Power is one of two makers reviewed here whose sizing chart asks about windage before length. Lewmar's force factor guide is the other. Max Power's selection chart has three rows, each with boats drawn beside it:
- "Heavy displacement, High windage", with a trawler;
- "Medium displacement, Medium windage", with a flybridge cruiser and a sailboat;
- "Light displacement, Light windage", with a sportsboat and a light sailboat.
The page gives its own reason: "For a boat of any given length, the area it offers to a direct side wind can vary from one design to another. The underwater shape & total weight can also differ greatly." Each model is a bar across a boat-length axis, and the bar moves as the row changes.
| Model | Heavy, high The area of the boat the wind can push on: the hull sides, the cabin, the mast and rigging, or the canopy. A tall, boxy boat has a lot of it, and wind force does not care how slowly you are moving. | Medium | Light, low windage | Product page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CT35 | 17–25 ft | 20–28 ft | 21–31 ft | 17–31 ft |
| CT60 | 24–32 ft | 26–36 ft | 26–39 ft | 25–39 ft |
| CT100 | 31–40 ft | 35–48 ft | 39–50 ft | 32–51 ft |
| CT125 | 35–46 ft | 42–55 ft | 45–60 ft | 35–60 ft |
Read across the CT100's row. On a heavy, high-windage boat the chart gives it 31 to 40 ft. On a light, low-windage one it gives 39 to 50. The product page says 32 to 51 ft, which is the chart's three rows laid end to end.
The chart is the more useful document. Read only the product page and you see a 19 ft band. Find the chart and you see that a 50 ft boat is only inside it if she is light and low. The chart sits two clicks further into the site.
Our calculator on the same rows. We sized the CT100 at the top of each row with our size calculator, the tool here that works out the thrust a boat needs, for a A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. unit steering in a 15 knot breeze:
- At 40 ft on a trawler, the unit needs about 105 lb. The CT100's 231 lb steers her at about 22 knots.
- At 48 ft on a sailboat, the figure is about 150 lb, and the unit steers her at about 19 knots.
- At 50 ft on an express cruiser, the figure is about 103 lb, and the unit steers her at about 23 knots. Our calculator treats an express cruiser as medium windage, where the maker's chart puts it in the light row.
All of that is our arithmetic on their chart. The calculator does the same sum for your own boat.
Two current figures, a cable table and a battery
The manual is specific about the electrical side, and it disagrees with itself. Section 7 says the performance data "is measured with an approx. consumption of 680A and 11V for the CT100, or 430A and 22V for the CT125, at the motor's connections."
Section 8, the next section, gives the same two units a "Maximum Amperage" of 550 A and 330 A. The measured figures sit 24% and 30% above them (our division).
The fuse. The manual sizes it "on the basis of the cable sections in the circuit and NOT the amperage drawn by the appliance". That gives a 315 A ceramic or 400 A ANL for the CT100, and 200 or 225 for the CT125. The wiring page explains why a slow fuse can sit below a motor's draw.
| Model | Volts | Run to | Their mm² | Nearest American wire gauge, the size scale for electrical cable. The number falls as the cable gets thicker: 2 AWG is thicker than 6, and 1/0, 2/0, 3/0 and 4/0 are thicker still. | Drop at max amperage | Drop at measured |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CT100 | 12 V | 5 m (16.4 ft) | 95 | 3/0 | 4.2% | 5.1% |
| CT100 | 12 V | 10 m (32.8 ft) | 150 | above 4/0 | 5.3% | 6.5% |
| CT100 | 12 V | 15 m (49.2 ft) | 240 | above 4/0 | 4.9% | 6.1% |
| CT100 | 12 V | 20 m (65.6 ft) | 300 | above 4/0 | 5.3% | 6.5% |
| CT125 | 24 V | 5 m (16.4 ft) | 50 | 1/0 | 2.4% | 3.1% |
| CT125 | 24 V | 10 m (32.8 ft) | 70 | 2/0 | 3.4% | 4.4% |
| CT125 | 24 V | 15 m (49.2 ft) | 95 | 3/0 | 3.7% | 4.9% |
| CT125 | 24 V | 20 m (65.6 ft) | 120 | above 4/0 | 4.0% | 5.1% |
That table shows two things.
Some runs need two cables. Of the 8 bands, 4 ask for more copper than a single 4/0 AWG cable carries. A long run on the CT100 at 12 V means two cables per leg, or a battery moved closer.
The voltage drop. At the manual's own maximum amperage, its cable sizes hold the drop between 2.4% and 5.3% at the top of each band. That is all inside The American Boat and Yacht Council, the body that writes the standards US boats are built and wired to. A surveyor or an insurer who asks whether wiring is to standard means ABYC’s.'s 10 percent allowance.
The manual's own instruction is to measure the voltage at the motor in use. It says to expect "approx. 10.5V for 12V models". The product pages say the units "are designed to run at 10.75V on 12V units".
The battery. The manual asks for "maintenance-free 'starting' type batteries, with high CCA outputs. For example: Exide Maxxima 900, 12V, capacity 55Ah / starting current 800CCA."
The manual for units from 83338 adds a total after the same example: "with 2000 CCA maximum total output (120 Ah needed for 10 min/day)".
One owner wrote to the maker about her 2009 Sun Odyssey 44i, whose factory pair had "failed twice in 2.5 years". She posted the reply: "The battery specs required for 10minutes operation of the thruster per day" are 2400 CCA and 150 Ah in parallel, or 1200 CCA and 100 Ah in series-parallel.
That is 3.0 times the cranking amps and 2.7 times the capacity of the manual's example (our division). Two other Jeanneau owners in the thread run pairs of Optima AGMs at 800 CCA each.
Battery chemistry. The FAQ adds the rule: "Standard on/off DC thrusters are designed to operate with lead-acid, AGM, gel, or similar kind of batteries. Li-ion or LiFePO4 batteries will cause rapid deterioration of the Max Power equipment (electric motor, relay, control box, transmission, etc) if they are not specified correctly." The ECO range is the exception, "designed to operate with Li-ion or LiFePO4 batteries". Our battery page puts the makers' figures side by side.
What it drills
A A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. through the bow. The tube goes through both sides of the bow below the waterline. Across the range it measures 110, 125, 185, 250, 300, 315 or 400 mm.
How deep, and how far forward. The manual's positioning rule is in millimeters rather than diameters: "The minimum acceptable tunnel position is 139 mm below the waterline". Ideally there is 185 mm from the waterline to the top of the tube. The manual also says: "The tunnel must be installed as far forward as possible."
A unit fitted higher than that "will lead to a progressive loss of performance." The product pages add the condition the thrust figure is measured under: "at an immersion depth of one tunnel's diameter, in a tunnel no longer than twice the tunnel's diameter, and this within a variation of + / - 6%."
A sealed drive leg. The drive leg is the maker's own argument for the brand. It is a composite The underwater part of a thruster: the housing in the tunnel that holds the gears and the propeller. The motor sits above it, inside the boat. "pre-filled with oil and sealed for life" that "does not require an anode". It "must not be disassembled, even partially (this would void the warranty)".
A Small carbon blocks inside a motor that press on the spinning part and carry the current into it. They wear down, they shed dust, and they are the usual reason an old thruster motor stops. motor. The maintenance section says to "Remove the motor and clean out dust from the motor-brushes with compressed air". It also says to grease the shaft against calcium once a year.
Stern pods and gasoline boats. The stern pods bolt on from outside: "Stern Pod units can be installed entirely from the outside of the transom". The housing is "ignition protected (ISO 8846)". The ignition-protected tunnel units seal every electrical part so fuel fumes cannot reach a spark, for gasoline boats.
Tunnel or pod, the boat is Lifting the boat out of the water on a travel lift or a trailer so work can be done below the waterline. It is billed separately from the job itself. for the job. What a yard charges for a tunnel is on the cost page, and our types page sets the kinds side by side.
The warranty, and who may touch it
The website and the manual give different terms. The website's Warranty Conditions say the units are "guaranteed to be free from defective workmanship, components and materials under normal usage conditions for a period of three (3) years from the date of purchase".
The manual in the box, dated July 2024, says "for a period of two (2) years from the date of purchase by the End User". It then adds: "Register your purchase within 3 months from the purchase date, to receive free extended warranty coverage by 1 year (3 years' total warranty coverage)."
Register within 3 months. Register, and the two documents agree. Skip it, and the manual gives you 2 years. The warranty is transferable to the next owner. Outside pleasure use "the guarantee is limited to a six-month period."
What it covers. Year one covers "All parts and up to two hours of labour" for repairs in the field. In years two and three the factory's testing, diagnosis, repairs and replacements are still free, and the field labor is yours. Normal wear on "engine, oil seals, relay contacts" is excluded.
What it leaves to you. The exclusions are the usual ones, plus two that matter on a boat. "Cost of hauling the boat" and "Cost of travel to and from the job site" are the owner's. So is "Damage due to water".
Who may touch it. "Damage due to repairs performed by an unauthorized service centre" voids it. The drive leg "must not be disassembled, even partially". The manual's maintenance section says "All maintenance should be carried out by qualified and authorized personnel."
The brush-cleaning the same section describes is a job most owners would do themselves.
Who is authorized in the US. The maker's Global Network page lists 10 entries: Lalizas/Alexander L.L.C. (Houston, TX), Ec Ruff Marine Inc (Fort Lauderdale, FL), New England Boatworks Inc. (Portsmouth, RI), Florida Rigging & Hydraulics Inc (Riviera Beach, FL), YachtAid Marine (Miami, FL), Jamestown Boat Yard (Jamestown, RI), U marine USA (Sarasota, FL), Line Six Services (Mullica Hill, NJ), Basin Marine (Newport Beach, CA), Kompletely Kustom Marine (Savage, MD). It also lists Rekord Marine Enterp. Ltd. in Vancouver, BC.
If it fails. The manual's advice is to "Contact your dealer/installer to report the problem". You get a Repair Authorization Number through them. The manual also asks: "IF POSSIBLE: PLEASE TAKE PHOTOGRAPHS".
What owners report
The reports come from Beneteau and Jeanneau owners in Britain and the US, 2015 to 2024, on units the builder chose. No thread we read carries an ECO or a stern pod.
- The heat sensor. A CT100 owner wrote in 2016: "Pressing the two switches now gives 5 beeps and 5 flashes of the green LED. No power to the bow thruster." A year on, the same owner reported: "My problem was a faulty temperature sensor. I removed the old one, cut the wires and soldered the replacement in place". The owner called it "An easy DIY fix for less than £20". On a Beneteau 41 in 2022, another owner advised: "If the thruster works with the yellow wires disconnected, it is the sensor that has gone bad". The sensor is a "$25" part that "fails to a closed circuit rather than an open circuit". A 2021 Oceanis 40 had the sensor and a master battery switch "open circuit in both positions" together.
- The A small electrical switch that a low current closes so a bigger current can flow. A thruster panel works the motor through one, and a relay that sticks closed keeps the motor running. Relay, solenoid and contactor are three names for this one part.. A 2007 Beneteau 40's CT 80 "would turn it self off (from the standby mode) without any warning, sometimes after 20 seconds, sometimes after 3 minutes". The owner had already replaced the switch and priced a relay module at "about $400 or so". A 2008 Oceanis 40's owner in 2022 traced power to a relay's pins 30 and 86 and none on 87.
- Growth. The same Oceanis in 2023: "The tunnel and the propellers were full of barnacles". The owner wrote that the boat had "lost quite a bit of power on the bow thruster". Antifouling had set in the propeller's set screw. The fix, in the owner's words: "A 90-degree angled pick worked fine".
- Age. A unit "approximately 15 years old" in 2024 was working to starboard "once every 4 or 5 attempts". The replies pointed at the joystick contacts and the motor contactor.
- Batteries. The 44i's pair "failed twice in 2.5 years". The maker emailed the owner a spec, and two owners on the same forum settled on paired Optima AGMs at 800 CCA each.
Strengths and limitations
Of the limitations, 5 are findings from reading the maker's documents against each other. The rest are owners' accounts.
What holds up
- A selection chart by windage, one of two among the makers reviewed here (Lewmar's force factor guide is the other). Three rows: "Heavy displacement, High windage", "Medium displacement, Medium windage", "Light displacement, Light windage", each model a bar across a length axis. The page's own words: "For a boat of any given length, the area it offers to a direct side wind can vary from one design to another. The underwater shape & total weight can also differ greatly." The CT100 runs 31 to 40 ft on the heavy row and 39 to 50 ft on the light one (read off the chart image, to the nearest foot or two).
- A manual that prints a run time with a number: "The maximum continuous operating runtime corresponds to S2-3mn norm" and "Maximum running time: 2-3 min (depending on ambient temperature)". A thermal switch in the motor sounds the alarm, allows "10 seconds of actual thruster use" and shuts the unit down until it cools. Unused for 30 minutes, it switches itself off (10 on units from serial 83338, by the second manual on the same page).
- A cable table by run length, a fuse per model in two types, and a named example battery. The CT100 at 12 V: 95 mm² to 5 m of cable, 300 mm² to 20 m; a 315 A ceramic or 400 A ANL fuse; "Exide Maxxima 900, 12V, capacity 55Ah / starting current 800CCA".
- A composite drive leg "pre-filled with oil and sealed for life" that "does not require an anode", and a tunnel rule in millimeters: the top of the tube at least 139 mm below the waterline, ideally 185, "as far forward as possible". The manual's own reason for the last one is the lever this site sizes by.
- Factory fitment on Beneteau and Jeanneau sailboats, so parts and know-how are in the owner forums. The one recurring fault, a heat sensor, was fixed by two owners for "£20" and "$25", and a third owner's unit was "approximately 15 years old" when its starboard side turned intermittent.
- A three-year warranty in writing, transferable to the next owner, with the first year's field repairs covering "All parts and up to two hours of labour" (their spelling). The maker's own network page lists US dealers in Texas, Florida, Rhode Island, New Jersey, California and Maryland, plus one in Vancouver.
- The ECO proportional range is the maker's lithium answer. The FAQ says the standard units "will cause rapid deterioration" on Li-ion or LiFePO4 batteries "if they are not specified correctly". The ECO units "are designed to operate with" them. They have a proportional joystick, and the ECO 90 page says "Unlimited runtime (until the battery runs out)".
What does not
- No price, anywhere the maker writes. Not on a product page, not in the manual, not on the site. Our database prices 24 of its 40 Max Power rows from one online dealer's listings, read on one day. That dealer is not on the maker's own US network list. The other 16 rows carry no figure.
- Two current figures for one unit, in neighboring sections of the manual. The manual's performance data "is measured with an approx. consumption of 680A and 11V for the CT100", and its fuse table gives the CT100 a "Maximum Amperage" of 550 A: the measured figure is 24% above the maximum (our division). The CT125 reads 430 A against 330, 30% above.
- Three minutes in the manual, "unlimited" on the ECO page, nothing on a standard product page. The CT pages print no run time at all. The manual's S2 rating is 3 minutes and its operation section says 2 to 3. The ECO 90 page says "Unlimited runtime (until the battery runs out)". The 48 V pages promise a "50% increase in operation cycle" over 24 V without saying what the cycle is.
- The warranty is 3 years on the website and 2 in the manual, with the third year given for registering "within 3 months from the purchase date". Both documents exclude "Cost of hauling the boat", "Cost of travel to and from the job site", "Damage due to water" and "repairs performed by an unauthorized service centre", and the manual adds that the drive leg "must not be disassembled, even partially (this would void the warranty)".
- Misprints in the maker's own tables. The CT HYD 225 page prints 200 kg and 220 kg both as "441(lbs)", where 220 kg is 485 lb (our arithmetic). The CT60 page's 24 V unit is "71(kg) / 158.4(lbs)", 71 kg being 157 lb. The ECO 150 makes 145 kg. The CT35 page says 17 to 31 ft and the CT35-IP page, the same 35 kg unit in a sealed housing, 17 to 34.
- The heat sensor is the fault on record, three times. "Pressing the two switches now gives 5 beeps and 5 flashes of the green LED. No power to the bow thruster." A year later: "My problem was a faulty temperature sensor." On a Beneteau 41: "If the thruster works with the yellow wires disconnected, it is the sensor that has gone bad." It "fails to a closed circuit", so a dead sensor reads as an overheated motor. A 2021 Oceanis 40 had the sensor and a master switch "open circuit in both positions" at once.
- The relay and the batteries. A 2007 Beneteau 40's CT 80 "would turn it self off (from the standby mode) without any warning, sometimes after 20 seconds, sometimes after 3 minutes", with a relay module at "about $400 or so" the suspect. A 2009 Sun Odyssey 44i's batteries "failed twice in 2.5 years". The maker's support emailed her a spec for "10minutes operation of the thruster per day": 2400 CCA and 150 Ah in parallel. That is 3.0 times the cranking amps and 2.7 times the amp-hours of the manual's example battery (our division).
- A tunnel, a haul-out, and growth. Every CT goes through the hull below the waterline. The composite leg needs no anode, but the propellers and the tube foul like any other: "The tunnel and the propellers were full of barnacles" and the owner had "lost quite a bit of power". The maker's own maintenance note wants the brushes blown out with compressed air and says "All maintenance should be carried out by qualified and authorized personnel."
Who it is for
Good fit if
- You own a Beneteau or Jeanneau sailboat from the late 2000s or the 2010s. You may have a CT in the bow already, and this page puts its manual, its warranty and the heat sensor in one place.
- You want a plain brushed A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. unit with a sealed composite leg and a clear manual.
- You want a sizing chart that asks about The area of the boat the wind can push on: the hull sides, the cabin, the mast and rigging, or the canopy. A tall, boxy boat has a lot of it, and wind force does not care how slowly you are moving. before it asks about length.
- Your boat runs lithium batteries. The ECO range is the maker's A thruster with a controller between the battery and the motor, so the joystick sets how hard it pushes rather than just on or off. The motor and the mounting are the same. Only the control differs. for a lithium boat.
- You want a unit that goes on from outside the hull. The stern pod is the one Max Power unit that does.
Look elsewhere if
- You want a published price. The maker publishes none, so a quote is the only figure you will have.
- You cannot take the boat out of the water. The job needs her hauled out.
- You plan to clean the brushes yourself each year. The manual says all maintenance is for authorized personnel, and the warranty excludes damage from unauthorized repairs. The authorized US dealers are listed in the warranty section above.
To see a tunnel unit against the other routes at your boat's length, read the sailboat guide or the trawler guide.
What it costs
The maker publishes no price. One US online dealer, Marinedeal, lists the electric range with a "List Price", a "Price" and a "You save" on every row. We read those figures in a real browser on 15 September 2026.
Of our 40 Max Power rows, 24 now carry those prices with that date. So those units appear in the thruster finder, our free tool that matches a thruster to your boat, and in the cost tables like any other priced unit.
The other 16 rows have no price anywhere we have read. They are the five ECO tunnel units, three of the retractables (the VIP 150 ECO, the VIP 250 and the VIP 250 ECO), the three 48 V tunnel units, the CT225 (bronze leg), the CT25, the CT300 (24 V), the CT325 (aluminum leg) and the CT550 (three-phase).
A second dealer, WMJ Marine, listed the CT100-IP the same day at $4,237.00 under a $6,755.53 list, "No Tunnel, Controller, or Cable Included". That is 50% above Marinedeal's standard CT100. On 12 October 2026, Marinedeal listed the other ignition-protected units at the same prices WMJ shows, and those are the figures on their rows, so all four now carry a price.
Every figure below is the unit alone unless the row says package. The A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one., the fitting and the batteries come on top.
| Model | Volts | List | Price | List over price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max Power CT35
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 12 V | $3,106.54 | $1,276.42 | 143% |
| Max Power CT45
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 12 V | $3,278.12 | $1,472.98 | 123% |
| Max Power CT60 (12 V)
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 12 V | $3,775.21 | $1,718.68 | 120% |
| Max Power CT60 (24 V)
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 24 V | $3,817.57 | $1,718.68 | 122% |
| Max Power CT80 (12 V)
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 12 V | $3,905.50 | $1,780.00 | 119% |
| Max Power CT80 (24 V)
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 24 V | $3,918.49 | $1,780.00 | 120% |
| Max Power CT100
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 12 V | $4,654.79 | $2,824.33 | 65% |
| Max Power CT125 (24 V)
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 24 V | $4,601.96 | $2,947.18 | 56% |
| Max Power CT165
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 24 V | $5,472.97 | $3,684.28 | 49% |
| Max Power CT225 (composite leg)
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 24 V | $5,472.97 | $3,991.40 | 37% |
| Max Power CT325 (24 V)
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 24 V | $9,703.93 | $6,509.83 | 49% |
| Model | Unit price | Package price | Package adds | Unit list | Package list |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $1,276.42 | $1,890.67 | $614.25 | $3,106.54 | $2,332.93 | |
| $1,472.98 | $2,013.52 | $540.54 | $3,278.12 | $2,455.78 | |
| $1,718.68 | $2,332.93 | $614.25 | $3,775.21 | $3,315.73 | |
| $1,780.00 | $2,517.20 | $737.20 | $3,905.50 | $3,500.00 | |
| $2,824.33 | $3,315.73 | $491.40 | $4,654.79 | $4,544.23 | |
| $2,947.18 | $3,438.58 | $491.40 | $4,601.96 | $4,605.65 | |
| $3,684.28 | $4,593.37 | $909.09 | $5,472.97 | $5,330.47 | |
| $3,991.40 | $4,961.92 | $970.52 | $5,472.97 | $6,141.28 |
| Model | Volts | List | Price | List over price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max Power CT45 stern pod
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 12 V | $4,442.26 | $3,274.83 | 36% |
| CT60 stern pod | 12 V | $4,760.44 | $4,035.33 | 18% |
| Max Power CT80 stern pod (12 V)
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 12 V | $6,141.28 | $4,298.53 | 43% |
| Max Power CT80 stern pod (24 V)
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 24 V | $5,235.87 | $3,684.28 | 42% |
| Max Power CT100 stern pod
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 12 V | $6,346.43 | $5,088.33 | 25% |
| Max Power CT125 stern pod
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 24 V | $6,664.62 | $4,912.78 | 36% |
| Max Power CT165 stern pod
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 24 V | $6,816.95 | $5,146.83 | 32% |
| Max Power CT225 stern pod
Marinedeal listing, read 15 September 2026. Full page: fit, cost and wiring See it on Marinedeal | 24 V | $8,250.61 | $5,614.83 | 47% |
Check a pod's thrust before you order. The stern pod manual, dated January 2010, and the product pages do not agree on every pod's thrust: the CT45 stern pod is 40 kg (88 lb) in the manual and 99 lb on its page.
Our database and the rows above carry the page's figure, the current one, and the pod's note on the row says so. Ask the dealer which document the unit you are quoted was rated under.
Read the list column with care. The CT35 alone is $1,276.42 under a $3,106.54 list, 143% above the price. The shares across the tunnel units run from 37% to 143%.
The CT100 alone lists at $4,654.79. The CT100 package, which adds a control cable and a panel, lists at $4,544.23. So the dealer's own list prices put the package below the bare unit, while its selling price sits $491.40 above.
The crossed-out figures are the dealer's. The maker prints no price to check them against.
Installed, the record is bare. The owners we read all got the unit with the boat, and none posted a fitting invoice. The parts figures on record are a heat sensor at £20 and $25, and a relay module at "about $400 or so".
A tunnel install at a yard sits on top of any figure above. The cost page has the labor bands by boat length.
What the tables get wrong
Each of these is the kind of figure you might copy into a quote.
- The CT HYD 225. Its page prints the composite leg as "200(kg) / 441(lbs)". It prints the bronze one as "220(kgs) / 441(lbs)". In fact 220 kg is 485 lb (our arithmetic).
- The CT60. The page's 24 V unit is "71(kg) / 158.4(lbs)", where 71 kg is 157 lb. Our database carries the conversion.
- The ECO 150. It makes 145 kg on its own page.
- The CT1000. The hydraulic page prints two ratings, "Light Duty 1200 kgf" and "Heavy Duty 1000 kgf". The lighter duty carries the bigger figure, and the page does not say which duty your boat is.
- The same unit, two bands. The CT35 page says "between 17'-31'". The CT35-IP page, the same 35 kg motor and leg in a sealed housing, says "17' to 34'".
- A fuse for another unit. The CT35 page's spare parts list names a "Fuse CT80 24V 125A" for a 12 V unit.
- Retired names still on sale. The retired-models page lists 20 model names over 25 rows. Among them are 6 CT HYD part numbers under 3 names that are still on sale.
Videos
Two of Max Power’s own videos, from its YouTube channel: the ECO proportional tunnel units explained, and a short reel of the range. They are the maker’s pitch. Watch them for what the units look like, and take the claims (unlimited runtime among them) to the run-time section above.
Questions to ask before you order
Most of these are answered in the manual or on the chart. Get each answer for your own boat in writing before the A tube bored straight through the hull below the waterline, with a propeller in the middle of it. It is the conventional thruster. Fitting one is mostly a labor job rather than a hardware one. is cut.
- Which row of the selection chart is my boat on? The product page's band is the three rows merged; the chart moves a model by up to 14 ft between the heavy and the light row. Take our 15 knot figure in with you.
- What is the price? The maker prints none. Ask for the unit, the tunnel, the panel and the cable as separate lines, and compare with the dealer ladder above.
- Which current figure is the cable sized on? The manual has 550 A and 680 A for the CT100 in neighboring sections. Ask which one the installer used, and for a total run over 5 m on the 12 V CT100, whether it is two cables per leg.
- What battery, and how far from the unit? The manual's example is 55 Ah / 800 CCA. The maker's support told one owner 2400 CCA / 150 Ah. Use lead-acid, AGM or gel on a standard unit, and lithium only on an ECO.
- Standard or ECO? Three minutes by the manual against "Unlimited runtime (until the battery runs out)" on the ECO page, a proportional joystick, and lithium allowed. No ECO owner report yet.
- Who is the authorized service center, and how far away? The warranty excludes damage from repairs elsewhere, and the manual wants all maintenance by "qualified and authorized personnel". The maker's US list is in the warranty section above.
- Is the warranty registered? Within 3 months, or the manual's two years stand where the website says three.
- Where is the heat sensor, and what does it cost? The one fault owners report three times, at "$25" a part.